Home Page

Governing Board

We have 12 Governors on the Governing Body of Sandford School. Seven Co-Opted Governors are selected via the Governing Body for the skills they are able to bring to the table. Another two are Parent Governors who have been elected by parents. We also have one Local Authority Governor, and one Staff Governor elected by Staff. The Headteacher makes up the 12th Governor. We currently have  two Parent Governor vacancies, and are actively seeking new Governors. For further information please contact the Co-Chair of Governors at 


GOVERNORS 1 Karen Snow, Co-Chair, Co-Opted Gov, Safeguarding
GOVERNORS 2 Pam Barnard, Co-Chair, Co-Opted Gov, Data Governor
GOVERNORS 3 Paddy Blake Vice-Chair, Co-Opted Governor
GOVERNORS 4 Chris Lee, Co-Opted Governor, Health & Safety Lead
GOVERNORS 5 David Park, Co-Opted Gov, Finance Lead
GOVERNORS 6 Jenny Scott, Local Authority Governor, SEND Lead
GOVERNORS 7 Lois Briard, Headteacher, ex-officio Governor
GOVERNORS 8 Nicky Hussey, Co-Opted Governor
GOVERNORS 9 Matt Theedom, Co-opted Governor
GOVERNORS 10 Alison Cruse, Clerk to Governors

Governor Information


Name Term of Office Category of Governor Appointing body Committees / Task Groups Responsibilities/ Class links Business interests

Mrs Karen Snow


22/06/2015 - 21/06/2019 Co-Opted Governing Body 2nd Committee; Performance and Pay Committee;  Complaints; Pupil Discipline


Safeguarding Governor; Middle Leadership; Reception

Farm Secretary - own farm

Mr Patrick Blake



22/06/2015 - 21/06/2019 Co-Opted Governing Body 1st Committee; Premises Forward Planning/Health & Safety; Complaints; Pupil Discipline

Vice Chair



Mrs Pamela Barnard


22/06/2015 - 21/06/2019 Co-Opted Governing Body 1st Committee; Chair - Pupil Discipline; Performance and Pay; Complaints; Pre-School Playgroup;


Data Governor Lead; Gender gap; Year 6; Pupil Premium Governor

Miss Lois Briard 01/09/2009 Staff - Headteacher  Ex-Officio FPP ; CC; Business Ventures; Premises Forward Planning Looked after Children; Safeguarding; FOSS liaison None
Mrs. Nicola Hussey 22/06/2015 - 21/06/2019 Co-Opted Governing Body Pre-School Playgroup; Premises Forward Planning/Health & Safety; Pupil Discipline; Complaints ; None
Mr. Chris Lee 20/04/2016 - 19/04/2020 Co-Opted Governing Body Pupil Discipline; 2nd Committee; Complaints; Business Ventures; Premises Forward Planning/Health & Safety;

Health & Safety Lead;

Year. 3/4

Mr. David Park 22/06/2015 - 21/06/2019 Co-Opted Governing Body 1st Committee; Pupil Discipline; Performance and Pay Committee; Complaints; Business Ventures;

Finance Lead;

FOSS Liaison

Year 2

Partner - Haines Watts Chartered Accountants; Trustee of FOSS; various directorships - no conflict; occasional tax advice to staff/parents;
Ms. Jenny Scott 11/10/2017 - 10/10/2021 Local Authority Devon County Council

Pupil Discipline; 1st Committee; Complaints; Business Ventures;

Pre School Playgroup; Communications;

SEND Governor Lead; Gender gap; Year 1 Environment Agency
Mr. Matt Theedom 19/07/2017 - 18/07/2021 Co-Opted Governing Body 2nd Committee; Business Ventures; Complaints; Pupil Discipline    



Hannah Hughes 19/10/2016 - 18/10/2017 Associate Governing Body   Communications New British Design Ltd; Touch Design
Mr. Steve Manoy 27/06/2017 - 26/06/2018 Associate Governing Body   Leadership John Lewis Partnership