The origins of Sandford School can be traced back to 1677. Our main building was completed in 1825 and built for the village by the ninth Davie Baronet, Sir John (born at Creedy House in 1798).
The classical Greek style of architecture probably makes it unique among the schools of Britain and its cob walls are thought to be the highest of their kind in the country. The old school is a Grade II Listed Building.
The old school’s history is long and interesting. It was thought to have been built from a model not from plans, although recent findings have thrown some doubt on this conclusion. The model has survived to this day and is currently being restored by Sandford Heritage Group. A fine pediment of the Paschal Lamb (the crest of the Davie family) once adorned the front of the building and bore the names of three craftsmen: William Edwards (mason), John Eme (carpenter) and John Kendall (sculptor). The columns, which were originally free-standing, are now incorporated into the front wall and the original stained glass windows (depicting the Seven Virtues) have been replaced by clear glass.
In 1863 the standards of education and conditions in the school made it eligible for financial aid from the State, though it remained the property of the Davie family until 1937 when it passed completely into the control of the Education Authority.
This is undoubtedly one of the oldest schools in Devon. Its main building has not been extended or significantly altered. In September 1997 a new two storey building was opened offering two classrooms, practical room, toilets and store on the ground floor, with a staff room and office accommodation above. In April 2010 a new single eco-classroom completed the current set of buildings.
Sandford Heritage Group have produced a photopack about the history of the village.